Malia Campbell Photography

Seattle Real Estate Photography by Malia Campbell

How to change your guideline color in Photoshop

When I first ventured into the world of Real Estate Photography one of the first lessons I learned was that I absolutely had to get my vertical lines… well… vertical.  Nothing screams amateur so much as a wall tilted at any degree other than 90.

There are things you can when you’re shooting to avoid messy “verts” but even the best of photographers generally need a bit of clean up in post (processing).  The easiest way to do this is to draw some guidelines and use the Skew tool in Photoshop to line everything up.

Cyan Guildes

For most Real Estate Photographers this is not a mind blowing concept but what might blow your mind is this: Did you know you can change the color of your guide lines (note: I’m talking guide lines not grid lines)?

The default color is cyan and I don’t know if it’s my monitor or my 30-something year old eyes but, for the life of me, it takes a lot of eye strain for me to see those lines clearly.

To change your guideline colors access your General Preferences menu by hitting alt + k or
Edit | Preferences | General. Then you’ll choose the Guides, Grids & Slices menu. From this menu you’ll have a drop down of color choices.   You can also choose between a solid or dashed line.

And there you go.  A little tip (to blow your mind) from me to you!

Written by Malia Campbell Photography

September 26, 2009 at 9:01 pm

Posted in How To

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re a GENIUS!!

    scotthargis

    September 27, 2009 at 12:03 pm

  2. Just chiming in to say thank you. I don’t know if it’s the fact that CS6 is different, or the fact that I’m using Windows instead of OSX, but the shortcut is CTRL + K, not ALT + K as mentioned in the article.

    Like I said, might be windows. Might have changed from CS6. But in any case, that’s my experience.

    The menu navigation instructions are the exact same though.

    jackharvest

    June 9, 2012 at 8:03 pm

  3. Thank you so much! On a side note, I was wondering whether or not you can have different colour guides on the same art board. For example, I have three layers and guides on all three, is there a way for the first layer have different coloured guides than the second and third layers? It gets quite confusing when you have so many lines and they are all the same colour.

    Kelly McKenna

    October 16, 2012 at 9:03 am

    • I don’t think you can. If you figure out how to please let me know! I’d love to have that kind of versatility in Photoshop!

      Malia Campbell Photography

      October 20, 2012 at 6:08 pm

  4. Light, I see Light…….
    THANK YOU, BIG TIME :D

    tarekeltabey

    October 20, 2012 at 3:21 am

  5. Greetings! Very useful advice within this post!
    It is the little changes that will make the largest changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!

    box motor

    January 7, 2013 at 4:20 pm

  6. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful information particularly the last part :) I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    Digital Photography Tips

    March 15, 2013 at 1:22 pm

  7. great:)) but you can simply just double click the guide lines to have that interface:))

    maria

    June 14, 2013 at 1:25 am


Comments are closed.

