Malia Campbell Photography

Seattle Real Estate Photography by Malia Campbell

Online/Social Marketing

When the online social networking boom began I was a total believer – I spent hours on MySpace, Facebook and Twitter. As the months (which turned into years) passed I grew out of them and closed all but my LinkedIn accounts.

Back in those days social media was about, well, the social aspect. My friends would tweet about where we were and what interesting (at least to ourselves) things we were doing in hopes of enticing friends out to join us. We’d post photo after photo of ourselves in our Facebook accounts in an effort to prove to our friends (and the world) that we were leading active and appealing lives. Definitely one to be jealous of.

Now days, though, there’s a different face to these social media sites. It’s not just LinkedIn that provides your professional online face – I keep hearing of photographers (and freelancers of all persuasions) receiving referrals from their Twitter and Facebook sites. How are they doing this? Last time I looked at a Facebook account it was so full of inside joke comments and gifts thrown at each other I couldn’t differentiate between the professional and personal. And this was the site of a colleague!

Tonight I’m thinking about different types of marketing and, though I can’t bring myself to create a Facebook profile, I have broken down to create a twitter. I’m still lost as to the professional benefits, though. How do I use this thing?!

Leave your comments or direct twitter me at @tulipchain and please fill in the holes!

Written by Malia Campbell Photography

December 2, 2009 at 7:48 pm

Posted in Words

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I get more than 70% of my referrals through my facebook page. It took a lot of time to grow from my personal life to my professional one, but It is now one of my number one tools. Twitter.. I find.. to be a hard tool to generate business because any individual from anywhere could become your friend… most of facebook friends are local or near by.

    You can also build a “fan page” which is linked to your personal account, but typically used just for a business. A word of advice I was told, amp your profile up before you start inviting people.

    Remember, almost everyone you know these days is on there. Start inviting family, friends and even local businesses. Good luck!

    August Heisler

    December 7, 2009 at 11:14 am

    • Hey, thanks for the feedback. I’m not sure I have the time (nor inclination) to do much FaceBooking but I can see how it would be a better tool than twitter.

      TulipChain Photography

      December 13, 2009 at 10:19 am

  2. Facebook is an interesting beast right now. You definitely start blurring your personal and professional life together. For B2B clients, I think Facebook isn’t the best. But for portraits and weddings – very nice. I have family and friends who use that thing like addicts and these people will shout out all the time to people they know about your business, especially if you can put some of your photos up and have people “like” them, etc. It’s a nice way to easily blast some of your latest work and get the word spread around to people who you would never meet otherwise.

    Twitter, on the other hand, I think is a joke. I was telling one of my friends that I’ve been signed up since it came out but really didn’t start using it until the last few months. For me, it is beneficial to get short thoughts across that I can’t put into a blog entry, and it’s great for entering all of these photo people’s contests that you just have to retweet something. But I can’t say it is going to bring in business. I would think something like Tumblr for photographers would work much better. But even still, what gets you the clients is the network and the Twitter network is filled with a lot of people trying to figure out how to monetize the system and getting people to look at their actual websites through links on it.

    I just read a short article about how people’s photo businesses fared this year. There were a lot of comments on the photographers reporting about their “marketing” techniques for the year, but not naming them specifically. One of them made a comment about “the people who will succeed are those who try new and different marketing techniques.” But all that made me think is, “what the hell is actually ‘new’ out there?” Networking isn’t new. Websites are essentially portfolio holders and business cards. I’m just curious what crazy new things are out there.

    Smith+Fritzy

    December 17, 2009 at 6:34 am


Comments are closed.

