Malia Campbell Photography

Seattle Real Estate Photography by Malia Campbell

Sunrise over the Pacific

Australia. I’ve been waking up quite early every morning, whether that’s due to my internal clock not resetting or being in the fresh air, I have no idea. Yesterday morning I was awake at 4:30 and decided to get up and do something. I traipsed the few meters down to the beach with my camera and tripod and time lapsed the sunrise. I thought this to be a “dry run” and wasn’t worrying too much about the composition, which I regret now. The angle which I had my camera makes it difficult to really see how fast the sun was rising. I had an idea that I would go down again this morning and do another time lapse of the sunrise but in HDR. I ended up sleeping in until after the sun had risen (5:30 am) so that didn’t happen.

Joe McNally would totally have done it. *sigh*

Written by Malia Campbell Photography

February 4, 2010 at 12:45 pm

Posted in Video

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Really cool! Did you set it up to automatically take shots or was it manual?

    Jakob

    February 4, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    • Well, it was a little of both. I started out with really long shutter speeds but, as the sun rose, I had to manually adjust that. Because my shutter speeds were getting faster I could speed up the time adjustment on my remote. So yes, it was automatic and manual. :)

      TulipChain Photography

      February 4, 2010 at 11:39 pm

  2. Very nice Malia — I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in Oz.

    I’m used to getting up at 4am or earlier to doing the processing of the shoots from the previous day, but today I was pretty tired from all the travelling this week so I slept into 6am as well. I’m afraid Joe McNally would be ashamed of both of us! :)

    Charles

    February 4, 2010 at 7:48 pm


Comments are closed.

