Malia Campbell Photography

Seattle Real Estate Photography by Malia Campbell

The business of marketing

I’m in the middle of a pretty aggressive marketing campaign which includes emails, postcards, handwritten notes and (eep!) phone calls.  I’m not the greatest at self promotion so the phone calls are causing a bit of stress at The Cottage this week.

A few weeks ago I was having some post-workshop drinks with the .au crew and the topic of marketing came up.  Someone, I can’t remember who, mentioned they were targeting local agents who were already using a professional photographer (smart!) but who they were better than.  This made me laugh to myself as I was thinking, “What if you’re not better than anybody else?

Now that I’m home, this comment is weighing heavily on my mind.  I have a list of local Realtors that I’m going to be calling next week.  I’m systematically checking each one to see 1) if they have current listings, 2) if they’re using a professional photographer, and 3) if I’m better than their current photographer.  I’m only about halfway through the list but, I swear to god, I haven’t answered yes to number three for anyone yet.

I have to end this evening on a high note so I’m going to get back to my list in the hopes of at least one yes.  Wish me luck!

Written by Malia Campbell Photography

February 20, 2010 at 6:59 pm

Posted in Words

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You should target every single agent that uses VICASO. :D :D

    Also, your work is definitely better than most of the local photog’s.

    Matt

    March 1, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    • Thanks Matt. I appreciate your confidence in me. :)

      I’m not sure I can tell Vicaso’s work yet… I need to study them more…

      TulipChain Photography

      March 2, 2010 at 7:25 am


Comments are closed.

