Malia Campbell Photography

Seattle Real Estate Photography by Malia Campbell

And now for something a little different

I’m in the Bay area for a long weekend and, just for fun, I brought the Holga and Bronica to shoot with.  I’ve done a lot of shooting with the Holga and always have a lot of fun with it.  The Bronica, though, is a new animal for me.

I bought the Bronny on a whim about a year ago without really knowing anything about it or how to use it.  It took me almost a year to build up the necessary equipment to make it functional (film, film backs, lenses, crazy hard-to-find batteries, etc) so you can imagine how eager I was to try it out.

I tagged along on some head shot sittings Scott was doing on Friday and, in between subjects, we tested the Bronica out.  The photo here is one of the final images.

Since Scott already had a pretty elaborate lighting set up going I borrowed a Pocket Wizard (the PC port on the Bronny works!) and shot a few frames.

[edit: WordPress seems to have compressed the image and it’s displaying a lot softer than it really is.  You can see a “truer” version here.]

Written by Malia Campbell Photography

March 21, 2010 at 12:53 pm

Posted in Photo of the Day

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. GREAT!!! Excellent shot.

    jerikoegel

    March 21, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    • Thanks! I can’t wait to get home and do more shooting with it (Scott’s kind of hijacked it while I’m down here). :)

      TulipChain Photography

      March 21, 2010 at 1:10 pm

  2. […] never ending fascination with film has led me to this: a Polaroid back for my Bronica.  I’ll write more about it in my other blog. Maybe. If I ever decide to update that blog […]

  3. […] never ending fascination with film has led me to this: a Polaroid back for my Bronica. I’ll write more about it in my other blog. Maybe. If I ever decide to update that blog […]


Comments are closed.

