Malia Campbell Photography

Seattle Real Estate Photography by Malia Campbell

Traveling with film

According to the TSA website, “The X-ray machine that screens your carry-on baggage at the passenger security checkpoint will not affect undeveloped film under ASA/ISO 800.”

My ISO 400 film would like to dispute this statement. Contact Sheet002 I have four rolls of film that were ruined by sending them through the X-ray machines at the security checkpoint.  So very disappointing.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining about the extra security measures.  Just suggesting that if you’re flying with film of any ISO to have them hand inspect it instead of sending it through with the rest of your carry on luggage.

Or, as another patron at the lab suggested, get a lead lined bag to store it in.

Written by Malia Campbell Photography

April 18, 2010 at 10:58 am

Posted in Words

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh! that would make me mad esp. after I just saw that sign at the airport of under 800 and was wondering if it really worked. I’ve just handed them the cameras/film to hand-inspect. One of my friends just shipped all her polaroid film to her family in advance of her trip. I wonder if any camera stores carry lead lined bags? Never heard of it.

    MPG

    April 20, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    • Yeah, I’m trying really hard not to be too upset about it but they were my last four rolls from my Australia trip and I hardly have any other photos from that trip. :S

      I have no idea where to buy lead lined bags… Maybe I’ll call Glazers tomorrow to see…? Either way I’m going to start mailing film to myself when I’m traveling or have them hand inspect. Not worth the ruined film.

      TulipChain Photography

      April 20, 2010 at 7:31 pm


Comments are closed.

