Malia Campbell Photography

Seattle Real Estate Photography by Malia Campbell

Suggestions, please

Sadly, I’m getting to the point where my 6 Million dollar home is no longer cutting it and need to find a replacement. Ideally I need something that will comfortably fit my camera with the battery grip and a lens attached plus two lenses and 2-3 speedlights, plus enough pocket/storage room to fit a card wallet, trigger set up, remote, business cards, etc.

I prefer messenger/shoulder bags but, because my gear is so heavy am thinking maybe the backpack style is better? I don’t carry my bag around much (home to car, car to job location, back to car, back to home) so I’m leaning toward messenger bag. Any suggestions? What do you use?

Written by Malia Campbell Photography

April 29, 2010 at 8:59 am

Posted in Words

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My best photo buddy gave me a wonderful rolling Lowepro case, very pricey, but fits all my gear. I carry this into my house and to my car, very rarely do I take it out of my car for a shoot. It’s just too heavy and big. When I get to a shoot, I attach my camera with main wide lens, battery pack, flash to my tripod. Attached to my tripod are three jerry rigged stroller bags with velcro covers and pockets:

    http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=231634&catid=120305&aid=337953&aparam=carry_you_stroller_bag_&CAWELAID=437264915

    These are attached securely to my tripod legs. I have three attached, in these bags go extra lenses, flashes, batteries etc. So basically, I carry my tripod with camera and flash attached, extras in the bags and drag my Alien Bee wheeled duffle with all it’s attachments. This set up is pretty light and efficient for me, and I get a good shoulder work out picking up my tripod with one hand. Works for me!

    jerikoegel

    April 29, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    • Who’s this photo buddy and how can I be friends with them?! haha

      You attach those bags to your tripod? With gaffers tape? Send me a picture of your setup!

      TulipChain Photography

      April 30, 2010 at 1:07 pm

  2. I have a Kata backpack. Love the quality of the backpack–if you’re thinking of getting a backpack, they have all sorts of configurations available. They’re very thoughtfully and cleverly made for all sorts of conditions and will protect your gear very well. I’d highly recommend Kata products.

    aphrodite

    April 29, 2010 at 10:42 pm

  3. I use a Tamrac backpack and love it! I can fit several lenses, cards, 2 bodies if I need both, my laptop, and at least 2 flashes in it. I *never* leave my gear in the car – last fall my car was broken into while I was shooting a property. If I had left the rest of my gear in the car I would have lost that as well.

    msk619

    May 4, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    • Thanks for the suggestion! Did your insurance cover your stolen gear? That’s my biggest nightmare – gear stolen and no insurance coverage! O.o


Comments are closed.

