Malia Campbell Photography

Seattle Real Estate Photography by Malia Campbell

Downloading iPhone photos to your computer (for Mac)

I recently upgraded to the iPhone 4 and, if you’ll allow me to be frank: the iPhone 4 rocks my world.

But this isn’t a post about how awesome(!) my iPhone is.  It’s a post about downloading photos from my iPhone.

I use my iPhone camera a lot and have built up quite the Camera Roll.  Now that I have video on my iPhone I’m noticing that storage is becoming an issue – I have my entire iTunes library on the phone so there’s not a lot of room for other files.  I decided that the best way to handle this was to periodically dump all photos and videos onto my computer, freeing up some space for new photos/videos on the phone. 

I have my own system of handling files on my computer which has nothing to do with iPhoto so getting all these photos off my phone quickly, without having to tediously email each file to myself and then tediously delete each image/video, was problematic.  Both Lightroom and Bridge recognize my iPhone as a drive and will download the photos wherever I specify but neither program was able to delete the images from the iPhone.

A quick google search found the, non-intuitive answer!  Image Capture!  Using Image Capture, an application on every Mac that I had no idea even existed, you can download and delete, en masse.  Image Capture rocks!

Written by Malia Campbell Photography

October 11, 2010 at 8:32 am

Posted in How To

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We can FACETIME! Ha! Now Dan needs to get an Iphone 4!

    jerikoegel

    October 11, 2010 at 8:43 am

  2. Cool! An app right here in my Applications folder that does what I want. It always bothered me that LR couldn’t delete photos off my iPhone and I hate iPhoto. Thanks for pointing out this app.

    Larry

    October 11, 2010 at 10:31 am

    • I’m the same way! I hate iPhoto. I wonder why LR can’t move files like it can with regular files. Must be an Apple vs Adobe thing.

      TulipChain Photography

      October 11, 2010 at 5:21 pm

  3. This is cool — I never knew about this! I always struggle to remember how to do this with iPhoto, now I won’t have to. Thanks!

    scotthargis

    October 11, 2010 at 4:45 pm


Comments are closed.

