Malia Campbell Photography

Seattle Real Estate Photography by Malia Campbell

Recording audio with the iPhone

If you watched my Agent Testimonial video from the previous post you may have noticed that I wasn’t using super duper fancy audio recording equipment. I wasn’t even using mediocre equipment. In fact, all audio was recorded using the built in microphone on the Canon 5D Mark2. Now don’t get me wrong, the 5D2 is an amazing camera for both still photography and video. The audio recording, however, is lacking. The voices are tinny and the ambient noise in the room was difficult to remove (although I did manage to get rid of about 90% of it using a combination of techniques in Final Cut Express 4 and iMovie ’11).

After lots and lots and lots of research I stumbled across a technique that intrigued me.  It was suggested to record the audio with the Voice Memo feature on your iPhone and then lay the track (Voice Memo) in afterward.  Recording audio on an external device and then laying the audio in manually is a pretty popular technique but it was the iPhone detail that excited me (you guys all know by now that I love DIY and “alternate method” technology!).  I wasn’t sure how great the sound would be from the iPhone but I figured it had to be better than the 5d2.  What do you think?

Note: the iPhone was recording while in Scott’s hand, on the couch.

Do you have tips or tricks that you use when recording videos? Share them in the comments!

Written by Malia Campbell Photography

February 9, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Posted in Reviews, Video

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow! What a difference using the iPhone made in the quality of the recording. I wonder if the same applies to the Droid? I’ve got to look into that. Thanks for the tip.

    Dave Kinkade

    February 9, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    • Pretty cool, huh? I just bought a Zoom H1 external audio recorder so the next test will be iPhone vs H1!

      TulipChain Photography

      February 9, 2011 at 2:18 pm

  2. I think you need to try another test, with a subject who isn’t a babbling idiot. This guy sounds like he was dropped on his head as a child, or something…

    scotthargis

    February 9, 2011 at 6:46 pm

  3. Hahha…
    anyway, the differenc is amazing! I can’t wait to hear the new H1.

    coastalpics

    February 9, 2011 at 8:54 pm

  4. Brilliant, it works well. Was the sound easy to sync with the video?

    Charles Mackenzie-Hill

    February 9, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    • Not too hard. Final Cut Express 4 allows you to view the sound waves so then it was just a matter of matching up the little spikes.

      TulipChain Photography

      February 10, 2011 at 7:15 am

  5. I wonder if this would be useful to you and your readers ?
    http://amzn.com/B001FBL2SW

    Charles Mackenzie-Hill

    February 10, 2011 at 1:30 pm


Comments are closed.

