Malia Campbell Photography

Seattle Real Estate Photography by Malia Campbell

Staying organized on a video shoot

It’s a snowy day in Seattle so I’m taking the afternoon as an Office Day!

I had a few questions about how I stay organized when shooting video in response to yesterday’s Behind the Scenes video so I made a quick video for you to describe my system.  This will probably only be interesting to videographers (and aspiring videographers) so apologies to the rest of you.  Go ahead and just skip this video.

Shooting video of oneself is not easy so please forgive the soft focus.  Also I forgot to mention one big point: a HUGE advantage of blocking out your scenes is that it allows you to shoot in whatever order you want.  Sometimes it’s not convenient or even possible to shoot scenes in order.  If you start with a tight script (or outline) and number your scenes it allows you the freedom to shoot in any order that’s convenient.

Okay, I think that’s it.  Hope this is helpful and please hit me up in the comments if you have questions.  Or have your own method that you’d like to share.  Or just want to say hi!

Click image to view video

1/18/12 UPDATE – Yes, I already have an update to this.   I was just watching a video preview of the LR4 beta and I really like the features they’re offering.  I really doubt that I’d do any actual editing on video clips BUT the preview function looks awesome.  That’s the one feature that Bridge can’t really provide for video (double clicking opens in QT, not in Bridge).  And before you tell me that you actually can preview in Bridge, I know that, but it’s stuttery and unwatchable (maybe I have a slow graphics card?).   Has anyone tested the video features in LR4 yet?  I’m going to download it later today and test it out.

Written by Malia Campbell Photography

January 17, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Posted in How To, Video

Tagged with , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Malia Superstar!!!
    Very interesting to see how and where you work.
    Thanks for all good tips

    Gaspard

    January 18, 2012 at 1:22 am

  2. I was wondering if you have ever tried http://www.singularsoftware.com/pluraleyes.html it’s a great tool for syncing remotely recorded sound tracks and video. Use your Zoom for the good sound and the cameras mic for the sync track.

    Greg Nuspel

    January 18, 2012 at 3:53 am

    • I’ve heard great things about Pluraleyes but, to be honest, it’s so easy to sync on my own that I just can’t justify the cost to myself. The slate apps would be even harder for a program like Pluraleyes, I would think, as that’s solely going on audio spikes.

      Or maybe you mentioned Pluraleyes as a completely sidebar note. :)

      Malia Campbell Photography

      January 18, 2012 at 6:53 am

  3. Thanks for this Malia, it’s really great to put a face to the name at last! This is vid is really most helpful. The organisational aspects of short movie making cannot be overlooked as there is always a tendency to try and keep it all in your head but at the end of the day you just can’t and it’s so much better to be organised. With my return to making videos (I had a production company Over the Moon Productions in the ’90s) I shall start as I mean to go on, thanks to this big nudge by you.

    Colin Cadle

    January 18, 2012 at 10:15 am

  4. Thank you for the great video on staying organized. When I start shooting video I am definitely going to follow your advice. I might have missed it, but can’t I find a mention of what software you are using to edit the video portion. Would you mind letting us know? I am trying out Camtasia right now and plan to be purchasing software soon. Your insight is appreciated!

    Photography by Kiera

    January 26, 2012 at 11:43 am


Comments are closed.

